The European Movement in the Republic of Macedonia (EMRM) is a part of the International European Movement (EMI), established in 1948 as a frame-organization of hundreds and thousands of national, regional and local bodies, of numerous political, civic and non-governmental organizations. With 42 National Councils and 27 associated Member Organizations EMI has played a crucial role in the construction of Europe. From its founding in 1991, the European movement in the Republic of Macedonia has continuously acted upon the affirmation of the EU integration processes in the Republic of Macedonia as well as towards creating conditions for accelerating the integration process of the Republic of Macedonia towards the EU.

In order to accomplish this basic goal, the following activities are undertaken:
– Educational programs for obtaining knowledge about the EU organized for different age groups (seminars, lectures, debates, quizzes etc.);
– Cultural manifestations for the affirmation of European values and for strengthening of the social cohesion ( reward for European person of the year, reward for best essay on EU topics, projection of European movies, competition for most creative young painter etc.);
– Organizing different forums to address the institutions, the enterprises and the local communities for wider democratization and respect of human rights and freedoms as well as the labor rights (public debates, panel discussions, press conferences, international conferences etc.).

The activities in strengthening the tolerance, in finding a peaceful solution to conflicts and in providing conditions for coexistence are especially meaningful. As a part of the International European Movement, the European Movement in the Republic of Macedonia intervenes for affirmation of the Republic of Macedonia in the EU, highlighting the preparedness of the grand majority of citizens to affiliate the European Union.

Therefore, everyone has an opportunity to support EMRM’s actions in order to see the Republic of Macedonia as a part of the EU state members as well as to sense the progress of the Republic of Macedonia towards being a stronger, more democratic and developed country. EMRM has approximately 200 individual members. Its horizontal structure consists of seven branches in the biggest municipalities in the Republic of Macedonia (Bitola, Ohrid, Gostivar, Tetovo, Kumanovo, Veles, Shtip) as well as a town organization in Skopje. The basic goal of the branches is to continue the mission of EMRM in the inner part of the country but also to transmit the problems related to local environment to wider audiences.

EMRM has established close cooperation with the National Councils in the region (Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania, Slovenia, Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Turkey).

Ph. D Mileva Gjurovska
President of EDRM

Comments are closed.